The Pivot City Basketball club was established in 1950 and is affiliated with Geelong Basketball, Corio Bay BA & Bellarine BA. The club has humble origins and is a community based club representing the Geelong Region which takes pride in its history and all activities the club is involved. We strive to have the best coaches who help players achieve their goals. We field teams in all age groups for girls and boys as well as senior teams across all grades and offer a pathway for budding basketballers.

Our proud successes include:

  • Victorian Country Club Champions 10 times
  • Domestic Club Championships 18 times
  • GBL Men Premiers 13 Times and Women Premiers 18 Times
  • Many past and present Supercats (including during their NBL era), Stingrays and Stormers
  • Olympians Michelle Cleary (Chandler), Robbie Johnstone and Neil Mottram


1950 Club established by Rawson, Stacey, Chandler and Dandy families using the Pivot City name in conjunction with local women’s softball team
1960 First Women’s GBL Title
1974 First Men’s GBL Title
1984 First Victorian Junior Club Championship
1985 Tim O’Leary and Murray Lovell play for the Supercats in NBL
1990 – 1999:  5 Pivot senior men were playing for Supercats SEABL men’s team. Jared Leonard, Ben Riddle, Nick van der Klooster, Zane Vale, Mitch Beckworth.
1992 Michelle Chandler captains the Australian Under 20 team to a gold medal in the World Championships
1996 Michelle Chandler represents Australia in Women’s first Olympic Medal [Bronze] and subsequently recruited to play WNBA.
2001 – 2009 : Jason Reardon and Jamie Medved key players for SEABL Supercats.
2005 Won both Men and Women’s Div 1 Titles both teams coached by Tim O’Leary.
2006 Timbertruss commits to be major sponsor for 5 years, resurgence of club.
2012 Club Legends announced Robbie Johnstone, Tim O’Leary, Sarah Jefferies (Dandy), Lesley Dandy and Michelle Cleary  (Chandler)
2013 First time over 60 teams fielded by club in all competitions
2014 Fivepeat in Men’s GBL Title and 12 overall premiers
2015 Fivepeat in Victorian Junior Club Championship and 9th overall best BG club shield
2015 Women win GBL title and make it 17 overall premierships


  • Robbie Johnstone
  • Tim O’Leary
  • Sarah Jefferies (Dandy)
  • Lesley Dandy
  • Michelle Cleary  (Chandler)

Life Members

Coming Soon…